Ole Miss Letterwinner Walk Update

OleMissMClub.org | View Letterwinner Lists

OXFORD, Miss. – As announced in August, Ole Miss Athletics is excited to add the Letterwinner Walk to its new plaza outside the north end zone of Vaught-Hemingway Stadium this fall.

A series of columns lining the Walk will feature the names of every student-athlete who has earned a varsity letter at the University of Mississippi, dating back to the first football team in 1893. The Letterwinner Walk will be named in honor of legendary Rebel athlete and coach Jake Gibbs.

“All 7,000 letterwinners will be featured name by name, sport by sport, along a continued Walk of Champions as you lead into Vaught-Hemingway Stadium,” said Athletics Director Ross Bjork when the project was announced. “That is who we are. Our history, our legacy, the ones who have come before – we need to do a better job of showcasing them.”

An official unveiling event is slated to happen during the football season. Further details will be announced later.

Ole Miss is asking all former letterwinners in a varsity sport to check for their name at the following website: http://olemissmclub.org/letterwinners. While official letters are issued in the modern era, the names from teams in the early 20th century are based on data from the Ole Miss yearbooks, which is often incomplete. Please note that club sports are not represented.

Ole Miss and the M-Club Alumni Chapter look forward to showcasing those individuals who built Ole Miss Athletics into what it is today.

No Replies to "Ole Miss Letterwinner Walk Update"